# Mid Cornwall District Annual General Meeting 2022



Date: Wednesday 15th June 2022

Venue: Drummer Lodge Campsite, Scredda

Timings: 7:30pm AGM

#### Minutes

## **Key Business**

The meeting was opened at 7:34pm

- District Commissioner (James McIntyre) and District Chair (John Rickard) welcomed everyone to the annual general meeting. JM thanked everyone for their hard work since the last AGM and expressed this thanks to JR for the hard work and pulling the AGM together.
- Apologies for absence See below
- Agree the minutes from the Annual General Meeting 2021

JR explained that the minutes from the previous AGM were included in the District Report, which has only been finalised very recently. There have been delays in getting some information. The draft report is available on the District Website. No vote was held to accept these minutes.

Receive the District Trustees Report and Accounts for 2021/2022 including reports on District activities
 JR explained that our appointed accountant had not looked at our accounts at this time. The accounts
 were submitted to the accountant in good time however we cannot report back to the meeting. JR proposed
 that, with agreement of the members, that the accounts would be circulated as part of the District Report in
 the next two weeks. A period of time would be given for members to submit any objections and then this
 would be discussed at the first District Executive meeting.

A vote was held to accept this proposal and passed as a majority

### **Formation of District Executive Committee**

- Agreement of the quorum for meetings of the District Scout Council
   A majority vote was held to keep the quorum at 20 members Agreed
- Agreement of the quorum for meetings of the District Executive Committee
   A majority vote was held to keep the quorum at 1/3<sup>rd</sup> + 1 Agreed

## Appointments (Number of online votes)

Approval of the District Commissioners nomination for District Chair
 John Rickard (13 YES 2 NO)

A majority vote was held to accept John Rickard – Agreed with only two online objections

• Election of District Secretary

Julie Rickard (14 YES 1 ABSTAINED)

A majority vote was held to accept Julie Rickard – Agreed with no objections, one online abstention.

Election of District Treasurer

Mary Fisher (13 YES 2 ABSTAINED)

A majority vote was held to accept Mary Fisher – Agreed with no objections, two online abstentions.

• Agreement of the number of members that may be elected

to the District Executive Committee

3

This was included in the vote below. The names have been taken from an online vote results.

• Election of members to the District Executive Committee

JM

Jake Blum10Karen Jarvill8Ben Powlesland6

A majority vote was held to accept Jake, Karen and Ben as the elected members of the District Executive committee. Agreed with no objections.

Approval of the District Commissioners nominations to the District Executive Committee

Luke Smith, Ross Geach & Matthew Jenkin

A majority vote was held to accept Luke, Ross and Matthew as the District Commissioners nominations for the District Executive committee. Agreed with no objections.

#### **Other Matters**

Note of the ex-officio members of the District Executive Committee

District Commissioner James McIntyre

District Youth Commissioner

District Chair

District Secretary

District Treasurer

District Scout Network Leader

District Explorer Scout Commissioner.

Vacant

Vacant

Vacant

 Appointment of an independent examiner for the accounts for the coming year (2022/2023)

JR explained that as the issues with the accounts have only arisen in the last 24 hours, this added to a problem with the accounts last year when they were returned from the accountants, it is proposed that the District Scout Council allow the District Executive Committee to search for and appoint a new independent examiner before the bext AGM.

A majority vote was held and passed with no objections.

- Any other notified business
  - Presentation to members of the World Scout Jamboree Contingent
    Prior to the AGM JM welcomed and presented 5 members of the WSJ Contingent, who had
    come to help with the AGM, with District Scarves. There are 8 young people attending the
    WSJ from Mid Cornwall and all will receive a scarf to represent the District in South Korea. JM
    also announced that at the last District Executive meeting it was passed unanimously to
    donate £175 to each young person to help with their fundraising. This money should be in
    their jamboree account very soon.
- Close of meeting

JR passed a huge thank you to all the District Executive and the Subcommittees associated. He thanked the Subcommittee Chairs (Jacqui Rickard (Finance), Luke Smith (Appointments), Matthew Jenkin (Safety) and Ross Geach (Drummers Lodge).

JM announced that in the coming weeks information will be circulated about first aid training. With agreement from the County Commissioner, Mid Cornwall District is being allowed to provide training and this will be open to leaders within and outside Mid Cornwall.

The meeting concluded at 7:52pm

## Apologies for absence

### **Apologies**

Andy Nash - 5<sup>th</sup> Newquay/Explorers John Morcom – District Supporter Jake Blum – District Executive

Tracy Adams – 1<sup>st</sup> Newquay/District Subcommittee

Adrian Jane – Polkerris/Scout Shop

Ben Powlesland –  $1^{st}$  St Austell/District Executive

## Voting via online

Total submissions (18)

Voided votes (3)

A vote was voided if multiple submissions were made

I agree with the nomination of the person named above, to become Mid Cornwall District Chair

Yes – 13 No - 2

**Election to the role of District Treasurer** 

Mary Fisher - 13 Abstain - 2

**Election to the role of District Secretary** 

Julie Rickard - 14 Abstain - 1

Aggreement for the Independent Examiner for the District Accounts

Peter Williams & Associates - 14 Abstain - 1

**Quorum for the District Scout Council – 20 members** 

Agree - 14 Abstain - 1

Quorum for the District Executive Committee - 1/3<sup>rd</sup> + one

Agree – 15 Abstain - 0

**Election of members to the District Executive Committee** 

Jake Blum 10 Karen Jarvill 8 Ben Powlesland 6 Luke Smith 5 Ross Geach 4 3 Matt Jenkin 3 John Sargeant 2 Christine Sargeant